Skip to main content


The IETF has a limited number of liaison relationships with other organizations. Liaisons are appointed by the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) when the IAB feels that conditions warrant appointing a specific person to such a task.

Establishing a liaison relationship can provide the framework for ongoing communications to:

  • Prevent inadvertent duplication of effort, without obstructing either organization from pursuing its own mandate
  • Provide authoritative information of one organization’s dependence on the other’s work

Note that such appointments are rare as the best way for organizations to work with the IETF is to do so within the working groups. The primary contact on liaison negotiation is the IAB. You can send email to the IAB liaison coordinators at

For more information about the procedures that govern IETF liaisons, please see RFC 4052 “IAB Liaison Management” and RFC 4053 (BCP 103) “Procedures for Handling Liaison Statements to and from the IETF.”

A list of liaison statements is available on the IETF Datatracker.

To submit a liaison statement:

  • Outgoing: If you are a Liaison Manager, you can submit an outgoing liaison here after logging into the datatracker
  • Incoming: If you are a Liaison Manager, you can submit an incoming liaison here after logging into the datatracker
  • Submit a liaison statement via email to if you prefer not to use the tool

The list of current liaisons appears below: 

SDO IETF Liaison Manager More Info
3GPP Gonzalo Camarillo RFC 3113
Broadband Forum David Sinicrope
CableLabs Jason Weil RFC 4965
Community Coordination Group Russ Housley, Barry Leiba, Tim Wicinski
ECMA TC39 Matt Miller
ICANN Board of Directors Harald Alvestrand RFC 2691
ICANN NomCom Peter Koch
ICANN Root Server System Governance Working Group (GWG) Ted Hardie, Geoff Huston
ICANN RSSAC Daniel Migault IAB liaison to ICANN Root Server System Advisory Committee (RSSAC)
ICANN RZERC Tim April RFC 8128
ICANN TLG Warren Kumari, Petr Špaček RFC 2691
IEEE 802.1 Eric Gray RFC 7241
IEEE-SA Russ Housley
ISO/IEC JTC1 SC2 Patrik Fältström RFC 3718, Section 7
ISO/IEC JTC1 SC29 Stephan Wenger
ISO/IEC JTC1 SC6 Allison Mankin
ISO/TC46 Peter Koch
ISO/TC204 Alexandre Petrescu
ITU-T Scott Mansfield RFC 6756
ITU-T SG15 (optical control plane) John Drake
Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (M3AAWG) Barry Leiba
Multi Stakeholder Platform on ICT Standardisation Mat Ford, Andrei Robachevsky
Unicode Patrik Fältström RFC 3718
W3C Mark Nottingham, Martin Thomson