Skip to main content
  • IETF 118 post-meeting survey

    IETF 118 Prague was held 4-10 November 2023 and the results of the post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    30 Nov 2023
  • Net zero update for 2023

    An update on the IETF’s carbon footprint over the past year and efforts going forward to increase the sustainability of how the IETF operates.

    • Greg WoodIETF LLC Director of Communications and Operations
    • Stephanie McCammonDirector of Meetings and Sponsorships, IETF Secretariat
    29 Nov 2023
  • IETF 118 Highlights

    The IETF 118 meeting was held in Prague in early November. In general, the meeting was productive and full of lively discussions fueled by 1067 onsite participants, and 1806 participants altogether.

    • Christopher A. WoodIAB Member
    28 Nov 2023
  • Cisco to host IETF 121 Dublin meeting

    I am pleased to announce that Cisco will be the Host for IETF 121 Dublin, 2-8 November 2024.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    6 Nov 2023
  • Suggested IETF 118 Sessions for Getting Familiar with New Topics

    These IETF 118 meeting sessions included discussions and proposals that are accessible to a broad range of Internet technologists whether they are new to the IETF or long-time participants.

      4 Nov 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2017-2018

      21 Apr 2017

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 98th Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting held in Chicago on 26-31 March 2107.

      The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members for 2017-2018 are:

      • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
      • Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
      • Erik Nordmark, Arista
      • Gabriel Montenegro, Microsoft•  
      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
      • Jeff Tantsura, Futurewei
      • Joe Hildebrand, Mozilla
      • Lee Howard, Independent
      • Mark Nottingham, Akamai Technologies
      • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
      • Robert Sparks, Oracle
      • Suzanne Woolf, Independent
      • Ted Hardie, Google 

      Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. For more information, see the IAB website.

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

      Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

      • Ben Campbell, Oracle
      • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
      • Adam Roach, Mozilla

      Internet (INT) Area

      • Suresh Krishnan, Ericsson
      • Terry Manderson, ICANN

      Operations and Management (OPS) Area

      • Benoît Claise, Cisco
      • Warren Kumari, Google

      Routing (RTG) Area

      • Alia Atlas, Juniper Networks
      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Alvaro Retana, Cisco

      Security (SEC) Area

      • Kathleen Moriarty, Dell EMC
      • Eric Rescorla, Mozilla

      Transport (TSV) Area

      • Spencer Dawkins, Wonder Hamster Internetworking
      • Mirja Kühlewind, ETH Zurich

      Alissa Cooper is IETF Chair and the area director for the General (GEN) Area. More information on the IESG is available here.

      The 2016-2017 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Lucy Lynch, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

      About the Internet Architecture Board

      The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. More information is available on the IAB website.

      About the Internet Engineering Task Force

      The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. More information about the IETF is available here.

      Share this page