Skip to main content
  • IETF 117 Highlights

    IETF 117 is a few weeks behind us and Dhruv Dhody, IAB Member and liaison to the IESG, took the opportunity to report on a few highlights and some impressions.

    • Dhruv DhodyIAB Member and liaison to the IESG
    21 Aug 2023
  • Proposed response to meeting venue consultations and the complex issues raised

    The IETF Administration LLC recently sought feedback from the community on the possibility of holding an IETF Meeting in the cities of Beijing, Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur and Shenzhen, with received feedback including views that were well expressed and well argued but strongly conflicting. The IETF LLC has considered this feedback in-depth and now seeks community feedback on its proposed response.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    21 Aug 2023
  • Submit Birds of a Feather session proposals for IETF 118

    Now's the time to submit Birds of a Feather session (BOFs) ideas for the IETF 118 meeting 4-10 November 2023, with proposals due by 8 September.

      16 Aug 2023
    • Applied Networking Research Workshop 2023 Review

      More than 250 participants gathered online and in person for ANRW 2023, the academic workshop that provides a forum for researchers, vendors, network operators, and the Internet standards community to present and discuss emerging results in applied networking research.

      • Maria ApostolakiANRW Program co-chair
      • Francis YanANRW Program co-chair
      16 Aug 2023
    • IETF 117 post-meeting survey

      IETF 117 San Francisco was held 22-28 July 2023 and the results of the post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard.

      • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
      11 Aug 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2019-2020

      27 Mar 2019

      More than 1200 leading technologists gathered 
for the 104th Internet Engineering Task Force meeting in Prague

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 104th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting held in Prague this week. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

      The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. Current IAB members are:

      • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
      • Brian Trammell, Google
      • Christian Huitema, Independent
      • Erik Nordmark, Zededa
      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
      • Jeff Tantsura, Apstra
      • Mark Nottingham, Fastly
      • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
      • Melinda Shore, Fastly
      • Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin
      • Ted Hardie, Google
      • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
      • Zhenbin Li, Huawei

      Colin Perkins, who was recently selected as Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as a non-voting member of the IAB.

      Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

      Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

      • Barry Leiba, Huawei
      • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
      • Adam Roach, Mozilla

      General (GEN) Area

      • Alissa Cooper, Cisco

      Internet (INT) Area

      • Suresh Krishnan, Kaloom
      • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

      Operations and Management (OPS) Area

      • Ignas Bagdonas, Equinix
      • Warren Kumari, Google

      Routing (RTG) Area

      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Alvaro Retana, Huawei R&D USA
      • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

      Security (SEC) Area

      • Roman Danyliw, Carnegie Mellon University/Software Engineering Institute
      • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies

      Transport (TSV) Area

      • Mirja Kühlewind, Ericsson
      • Magnus Westerlund, Ericsson

      In addition to her role as the Area Director for the General Area, Alissa Cooper will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB chair, Ted Hardie, will also serve as an ex officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

      The 2018-2019 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Scott Mansfield, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

      About the Internet Architecture Board

      The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. For more information, see:

      About the Internet Engineering Task Force

      The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. For more information, see:

      Share this page