Skip to main content
  • IETF 117 Highlights

    IETF 117 is a few weeks behind us and Dhruv Dhody, IAB Member and liaison to the IESG, took the opportunity to report on a few highlights and some impressions.

    • Dhruv DhodyIAB Member and liaison to the IESG
    21 Aug 2023
  • Proposed response to meeting venue consultations and the complex issues raised

    The IETF Administration LLC recently sought feedback from the community on the possibility of holding an IETF Meeting in the cities of Beijing, Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur and Shenzhen, with received feedback including views that were well expressed and well argued but strongly conflicting. The IETF LLC has considered this feedback in-depth and now seeks community feedback on its proposed response.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    21 Aug 2023
  • Submit Birds of a Feather session proposals for IETF 118

    Now's the time to submit Birds of a Feather session (BOFs) ideas for the IETF 118 meeting 4-10 November 2023, with proposals due by 8 September.

      16 Aug 2023
    • Applied Networking Research Workshop 2023 Review

      More than 250 participants gathered online and in person for ANRW 2023, the academic workshop that provides a forum for researchers, vendors, network operators, and the Internet standards community to present and discuss emerging results in applied networking research.

      • Maria ApostolakiANRW Program co-chair
      • Francis YanANRW Program co-chair
      16 Aug 2023
    • IETF 117 post-meeting survey

      IETF 117 San Francisco was held 22-28 July 2023 and the results of the post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard.

      • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
      11 Aug 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2018-2019

      21 Mar 2018

      More than 1000 leading technologists gathered 
for the 101st Internet Engineering Task Force meeting in London

      [LONDON]  21 March 2018 — Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 101st Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting held in London this week. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

      The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. Current IAB members are:

      • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
      • Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
      • Christian Huitema, Independent
      • Erik Nordmark, Zededa
      • Gabriel Montenegro, Microsoft
      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
      • Jeff Tantsura, Nuage Networks
      • Mark Nottingham, Fastly
      • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
      • Melinda Shore, Fastly
      • Robert Sparks, Independent
      • Suzanne Woolf, Independent
      • Ted Hardie, Google

      Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

      Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

      • Ben Campbell, Independent
      • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
      • Adam Roach, Mozilla

      Internet (INT) Area

      • Suresh Krishnan, Kaloom
      • Terry Manderson, ICANN

      Operations and Management (OPS) Area

      • Ignas Bagdonas, Equinix
      • Warren Kumari, Google

      Routing (RTG) Area

      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Alvaro Retana, Huawei R&D USA
      • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

      Security (SEC) Area

      • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies
      • Eric Rescorla, Mozilla

      Transport (TSV) Area

      • Spencer Dawkins, Wonder Hamster Internetworking
      • Mirja Kühlewind, ETH Zurich

      Alissa Cooper is IETF Chair and the area director for the General (GEN) Area. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

      The 2017-2018 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Peter Yee, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

      About the Internet Architecture Board

      The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. For more information, see:

      About the Internet Engineering Task Force

      The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. For more information, see:

      Share this page