Skip to main content
  • IETF 117 Highlights

    IETF 117 is a few weeks behind us and Dhruv Dhody, IAB Member and liaison to the IESG, took the opportunity to report on a few highlights and some impressions.

    • Dhruv DhodyIAB Member and liaison to the IESG
    21 Aug 2023
  • Proposed response to meeting venue consultations and the complex issues raised

    The IETF Administration LLC recently sought feedback from the community on the possibility of holding an IETF Meeting in the cities of Beijing, Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur and Shenzhen, with received feedback including views that were well expressed and well argued but strongly conflicting. The IETF LLC has considered this feedback in-depth and now seeks community feedback on its proposed response.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    21 Aug 2023
  • Submit Birds of a Feather session proposals for IETF 118

    Now's the time to submit Birds of a Feather session (BOFs) ideas for the IETF 118 meeting 4-10 November 2023, with proposals due by 8 September.

      16 Aug 2023
    • Applied Networking Research Workshop 2023 Review

      More than 250 participants gathered online and in person for ANRW 2023, the academic workshop that provides a forum for researchers, vendors, network operators, and the Internet standards community to present and discuss emerging results in applied networking research.

      • Maria ApostolakiANRW Program co-chair
      • Francis YanANRW Program co-chair
      16 Aug 2023
    • IETF 117 post-meeting survey

      IETF 117 San Francisco was held 22-28 July 2023 and the results of the post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard.

      • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
      11 Aug 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    New Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Meet for First Time

      10 Mar 2021

      Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles this week during the 110th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting.

      More than 1000 leading technologists gather online for Internet Engineering Task Force meeting

      The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet. IETF 110 is being held online 8-12 March.

      The 2020-2021 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Barbara Stark was responsible for considering candidates for open seats in the IAB and IESG. Candidates selected by the NomCom are indicated by asterisks in the lists below. Other members are continuing existing terms.

      Internet Architecture Board

      The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members for the upcoming year are:

      • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
      • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
      • Ben Campbell, independent consultant
      • Lars Eggert, NetApp
      • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
      • Cullen Jennings, Cisco
      • Mirja Kühlewind, Ericsson
      • Zhenbin Li, Huawei
      • Jared Mauch, Akamai Technologies
      • Tommy Pauly, Apple
      • David Schinazi, Google
      • Russ White, Juniper
      • Jiankang Yao 姚健康, CNNIC China Internet Network Information Center

      Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB. Mirja Kühlewind was selected for a second term as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

      Internet Engineering Steering Group

      The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (general) area. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

      Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

      • Murray Kucherawy, Facebook 
      • Francesca Palombini, Ericsson

      General (GEN) Area

      • Lars Eggert, NetApp

      Internet (INT) Area

      • Erik Kline*, Loon LLC
      • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

      Operations and Management (OPS) Area

      • Warren Kumari, Google
      • Robert Wilton, Cisco

      Routing (RTG) Area

      • Alvaro Retana, Futurewei
      • John Scudder, Juniper
      • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

      Security (SEC) Area

      • Roman Danyliw, CERT/Software Engineering Institute
      • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies

      Transport (TSV) Area

      • Martin Duke, F5 Networks.
      • Zaheduzzaman Sarker, Ericsson

      In addition to his role as the Area Director for the General Area, Lars Eggert will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair, Mirja Kühlewind, will also serve as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

      Share this page