Newcomers

This page provides a summary of information and resources to help newcomers to the IETF get started at IETF 108.

Key Info


Welcome to the IETF Online! We have several of events designed to introduce and integrate IETF newcomers to the community. Dive in and have fun!

Newcomers' webinar before IETF 108

Two one-hour moderated webinar sessions for how to prepare for the IETF 108 meeting week will be offered in advance of IETF 108. These sessions will use Meetecho, the tool used for remote participation at IETF meetings. If you have not used Meetecho before, you are encouraged to review the helpful information before joining your first working group session.

Two sessions are offered:

  • Tuesday, 7 July at 14:00 UTC (7:00 PST, 10:00 EST, 16:00 CET, 23:00 JST)
  • Thursday, 9 July at 11:00 UTC (4:00 PST, 7:00 EST, 13:00 CET, 20:00 JST)

Join the webinar.
Download the slides.

IETF Guides

The IETF Guides (formerly known as IETF Mentoring) program helps bring experienced IETF participants with newcomers in order to aid their integration into the IETF community through advice, help, and collected wisdom. For more information on the program see the IETF Guide page or sign-up.

IETF Quick Connections

  • Thursday, 23 July at 15:00 UTC (8:00 PST, 11:00 EST, 17:00 CET, 00:00 JST)

NOTE:Pre-registration is required and space is limited. Quick Connections is a simple and effective way for you to be introduced to a variety of experienced IETF attendees — often working group (WG) chairs — who can help you get more involved in your areas of interest.

Quick connections is taking place in Gather. Guidelines for using Gather are here.

Newcomers Coffee Breaks

The IETF Newcomers’ Coffee Breaks are 30-minute gatherings where you can quickly meet other newcomers and experienced IETFers. Share thoughts on how your week is going or ask any questions that you might have. 

  • Tuesday, July 28 at 10:30 UTC (3:30 PST, 6:30 EST, 12:30 CET, 19:30 JST)
  • Thursday, July 30 at 16:30 UTC (9:30 PST, 12:30 EST, 18:30 CET, 01:30 JST)

Tao of the IETF

A wonderful resource for understanding how the IETF operates and its culture is the Tao of the IETF, A Novice's Guide to the Internet Engineering Task Force.  It is highly recommended reading for new IETF participants.

IETF 108 Meeting Agenda

The meeting agenda is dynamic and changes leading up to the meeting and throughout the meeting week. The most current version is always online.

Many people also view the agenda on their smartphone; IETF meeting agendas are available for iPhone and Android. The app checks for agenda updates each time you open it.

Resources for getting started

There are a variety of resources available to newcomers, including tutorials and web pages that describe the IETF processes and provide overviews of IETF technical work. 

Finding documents online

Internet-Drafts and RFCs can be found online using the IETF Datatracker. You can search on title, author or other criteria.

Other presentation materials, such as meeting slides that are presented in working sessions, can be found (usually but not always in advance of the session) on the IETF Datatracker meeting materials page.

A more complete collection of agenda’s, minutes, and slides -- known as the proceedings -- is available shortly after the meeting occurs. Also, video’s of the sessions will be available on the IETF’s channel on YouTube.

Next IETF meeting

Stay tuned for the latest information on IETF 108

Visit the IETF 108 meeting webpage

Sign up for the IETF Newcomers' mailing list for the next IETF Meeting.

Sign up for the IETF Newcomers' mailing list for the next IETF Meeting to get newcomer-specific information.

Sign up today